Long Time, No See: Muse Wanted

*Insert long sigh here*

I promised myself this wouldn’t be a post about my lack of posts… Seems like forever since I’ve added any updates, and when I look at my WordPress dashboard, I realize it really has been. I apologize for neglecting my poor little blog. Who’s a good blog? You are, that’s right!

But, if it’s any condolence, a lot of writing has been taking place elsewhere. I’ve done a shit ton of documentation for work over the last few months, writing everything from training docs, to user guides, to test cases. And I’ve been extremely motivated to write lately, though the inspiration is still hit or miss (I’m currently taking applications for the position of muse, if anyone’s interested!).

I’ve added a few scenes and pages to some of my current works in progress, and come up with several new story ideas, including some children’s stories, with the aid of my two little ones at home. Though while I can sketch out random stuff okay, my artistry skills really aren’t up to snuff (so I’m also looking for someone that can draw or paint as well…). I’ve also added some of my older work (mostly snippets and unfinished short stories) to the site, which can be downloaded in PDF format, for those of you interested in checking that out. And feel free to share your feedback!

So, I’ve been trying to get back into the habit of reading when I’m not writing, and a while back I found a passage in Stephen King’s short story, Morality, from the book “The Bazaar of Bad Dreams” that seemed to sum up everything I’ve been feeling (work, family life and other obligations) and why I hadn’t been getting much done:

81fc9NgRyuL

It wasn’t laziness… it was like having a pair of jumper cables attached to some critical part of your brain. It was good that [he] could draw power from that part, but there was precious little left by the end of the day. 

It just nailed it. I read and re-read that section several times that night, and it truly hit home. In my last post (here), I mentioned my new job being much more challenging than previous jobs. Couple that with a drive that’s twice as long, and by the time I get home each night, I’m already spent. The second I walk through the door, I’m pounced on by the kiddos, and then I’m still expected to help around the house, and do the normal hubby duties.

And please understand, I’m not complaining by any means, and I hope it doesn’t come across as being whiny. I absolutely love my family (even as much as the houseful of females drives me insane some times), and I have never been happier at a job. But by the end of the day, if I don’t pass out on the couch, it’s so difficult to fire myself up to sit down behind a computer screen and work. I’m guessing I’m going to have to start drinking more coffee…

I know being a writer’s not supposed to be easy, and if it was, anyone could do it. But sometimes I really don’t know how you people do it. I have work stored on a USB drive, and in the cloud, so I can access it anywhere, and many days I’ll poke around with it on my lunch break. As a matter of fact, that’s how I’ve written the majority of one of the books I’m working on, Dominion. One lunch break at a time. Though here lately, instead of a page or two on my lunch break, I may only add a paragraph or two… if I’m lucky.

I feel like I’m on the right track at least. My brain’s always thinking of ideas, whether from some dream I’ve had, or something I’ve seen on tv or heard on the radio. And I make a note of EVERY little idea that I can.

12376816_10153710346516291_7442489787107048670_n

Because if I don’t, this happens…

Anyway, duty calls. In the meantime, follow me over on Facebook for more updates and literary randomness. See y’all on the other side… hopefully with a little more inspiration and a lot more writing done!

Bye_Felicia

 

Links: The Bazaar of Bad Dreams on Amazon

Leave a Reply

